2018 Toyota New Harvest of the Year Competition


This is the 11th year that the Toyota New Harvest of the Year Competition is being held. Former winners were Mr. Ricard Myburg (2017), Mr. André Cloete (2016), Me. Jacqueline Goliath (2015), Mr. Trevor Abrahams (2014), Mr. Warren Bam (2013), Mr. Gilbert Phalafala (2012), Mr. Gift Mafuleka (2011), Mr. Moses Gumede (2010), Mr. Solly Rantsomane (2009) and the late Mr. Thando Lolwane (2008). The objective of this competition is:1) to identify and reward the most successful previously disadvantaged (black/coloured/Indian) farmer in South Africa, and;2) to give recognition to those people/institutions/organisations/agencies that are involved in the development of new farmers.

Toyota SA is sponsoring the winning farmer with a new Toyota Hilux bakkie while the winning developing institution will be awarded with a cash prize of R10,000 (that should preferably be spent on the further development of such farmers).

The New Harvest competition is aimed at individuals who have owned or operated/managed a farm for five years and longer and who overcame a previously disadvantaged background to become a successful farmer.

Share this