For validation of learning material and programmes for Continuing Professional Development (CPD),
please click here
For Registration Applications, please click here

Read more ...

Technology Innovation Agency (TIA, organisation) an entity of the Department of Science andTechnology (DST) was established in terms of the TIA Act, 2008 (Act No. 26 of 2008), with theobjective to stimulate, intensify and exploit technological innovation to improve economic growthand the quality of life of all South Africans.

Read more ...


Read more ...

The Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (DAFF) intends to award comprehensive bursaries to qualifying applicants pursuing and/or intending to further their studies in critical scarce skills in the agricultural, forestry and fisheries sectors for the 2019 academic year. The bursary will cover tuition, accommodation, books, meals and monthly allowance. The bursary awards target the previously disadvantaged and impoverished persons from poverty-stricken and rural communities.

People with disabilities are encouraged to apply.

For more information, visit:

All completed bursary application forms together with certified copies of ID and certificates/performance results should be sent to the following address:

The Director
Directorate: Sector Education and Training Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries
Private Bag X250
Pretoria, 0001

For further enquiries please contact:

Mr. Vusimuzi Mngomezulu : 012 319 7923
Ms. Boitumelo Maleka : 012 319 7024
Ms. Silindelo Dlomo : 012 319 7848

Six young female South African scientists were nominated by the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) to attend the 68th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting later this year in Lindau, Germany.

The meeting will take place from 24 to 29 June 2018 and a record number of 43 Nobel Laureates are expected to attend. Some 600 young scientists were selected from 84 countries to participate in the meeting which is dedicated to physiology and medicine.

ASSAf as the official partner of the Lindau Foundation and with funding from the Department of Science and Technology (DST) annually nominates young scientists to attend the Lindau Laureate meetings which are designed as a forum for exchange, networking and inspiration. 

The young scientists are: Dr Eileen Thomas, Stellenbosch University; Ms Zimkhita Soji, University of Fort Hare; Ms Edith Phalane, North-West University; Ms Blessing Ahiante, North-West University; Dr Bianca Verlinden, University of Pretoria and Ms Shireen Mentor, University of the Western Cape.

Successful scientists are outstanding students, graduate students and postdoctoral students under 35 years of age, conducting research in the field of physiology and medicine. They were selected after a multi-stage international selection process and represent more than 200 scientific institutes, universities, foundations and research-oriented companies from research nations.

 The selected young scientists may expect a six-day programme with numerous lectures and panel discussions. Many see the chance to present their own research work at one of the master classes or at the poster session as a special opportunity.

“This summer we will once again welcome the next generation of top researchers. I find it remarkable that we will bring together more than 80 nations in Lindau and in so doing will not only be able to enjoy an intensive exchange between generations but also one that crosses national boundaries,” says Countess Bettina Bernadotte, President of the Council for the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings. “It is particularly gratifying that 50 per cent of the young scientists are women.”

ASSAf Executive Officer, Prof Roseanne Diab, also welcomed the all-female group of excellent young scientists who will represent South Africa at the prestigious meeting. “ASSAf is committed to promoting women in science activities and highlighting the importance of applying a gender lens in activities that it undertakes. The Lindau Nobel Laureate programme presents a unique opportunity for young women to meet and interact with Nobel Laureates,” she says.

More information
Twitter: #LiNo18


The Department of Science and Technology (DST) calls for nominations for the 2018 South African Women in Science Awards (WISA). The awards recognise and reward excellence by women scientists and researchers, and profile them as role models for younger women. The awards will be made to women who are South African citizens or permanent residents.

The theme for the 2018 WISA is leveraging science, technology and innovation to enhance inclusive growth and development. This theme is adapted from the 2018 priority theme for the 6th BRICS science technology and innovation (STI) Ministerial meeting, which will be hosted by South Africa in July 2018.

Awards in the distinguished woman and distinguished young woman researcher categories will be made for research that responds to the theme in the fields of Natural (Life and Physical) and Engineering Sciences, Humanities and Social Sciences, and Astronomy. However, the DST Fellowships and TATA Scholarships are not restricted to the theme.

Awards will also be made to a category on Research and Innovation (R&I) leading to a demonstrable contribution in enhancing inclusive growth and development.

Please see the full brief below:

SACNASP hereby attaches and gives notice of the draft revision to the Code of Conduct of the South African Council for Natural Scientific Professions. SACNASP hereby invites any interested persons or institutions to submit written comments or representations or submissions with regard to the proposed revised code of conduct within 30 days of the date of this publication of this notice (16 February 2018). All comments or representations or submissions must be submitted to Mrs Sarah van Aardt at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by 16 March 2018.

Download draft revision to Code of Conduct:


The process of reconstituting the South African Council for Natural Scientific Professions has been completed. View the new Council.
If you are final year Natural Science student, you can enroll at SACNASP. View more information.